According to the KDI Act of 2012, KDIC membership is compulsory. The membership comprises all institutions licensed as deposit-taking and regulated by Central Bank of Kenya. Commercial banks, mortgage institutions and microfinance banks are members of KDIC. Currently, KDIC membership stands at forty-one (41) commercial banks, one (1) mortgage institution and thirteen (13) microfinance banks.